Creating a routine that actually works.

This quarantine or say hibernation as some people have chosen to call it has helped me develop a really workable routine that I believe can be replicated by any one who is willing or desiring . But also someone can develop their own routine to that which fits their lifestyle.

I have been able to have a minimum of 7 hours sleep every day, regardless of the time I sleep.But usually by midnight that means waking up at about 7 am to 8am. When I wake up , I wash my face,brush my teeth and then stretch briefly. There after, I head to the living room, where I can decide between exercise and quiet time what comes first. This varies as some days I get up will the zeal to start my quiet time directly and other times do exercise first.

These days I do more of indoor exercises since our dear President banned outdoor exercises. I begin with either stretching exercises from an app” Lose weight in 30 days ” for 5 minutes or do jump rope. Currently I am doing 400 jumps in the moring, I intend to add 200 jumps daily ( divide am and pm). There after , I do the work out on the same app usually 10 to 20 min. It may seem like a few minutes but it actually does make you sweat, so I believe it is very effective. Then I head for a shower about 30 minutes to 1 hour later( as I find that I need to relax before hitting the shower). Then at the end of the day, I do the same number of jumps that I did in the morning.

My quiet time can range from 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on what I feel the Spirit needs me to dwell on as I pray, meditate, read and do bible study,worship etc. These last few days , I was led to start reading a chapter a day and I have been able to complete Philippians and now I have started James and am also doing a joint study the book of Esther with a group of friends ( this I do in the evening). This time has been very refreshing and encouraging. I live with renewed energies for the day and the Word that says that ” new mercies every day ” is fulfilled each morning.

There after, I start to prepare for breakfast. I started intermittent fasting also like for a week now. I fast from 8pm to 12pm and then eat between 12pm and 8pm. My breakfast varies depending on what I am desiring each morning. At least I try to make it variable not to get boring.

After breakfast, I do what ever else needs to be done such as cleaning,decluttering, busking in the sun, reading, social media, listening to a podcast, writing etc. During this time I also had a water bottle for drinking water throughout the day that I keep by my side. It is about 1.4 litres so I am assured that I am well hydrated.

By 3pm, I am having a snack. Usually, a fruit, maybe yorghurt or some gonja crisps. Then the other things that can be done during this time vary depending on what was on my to do list.

By 5 pm to 6pm, I prepare dinner and have my meal with a cup of tea.By 8pm , I stop eating except plain flavoured Kericho tea amd water. Until 12pm the next day.

Creating this routine has not been easy but I belive it is God who has enabled me to be disciplined.I am working on my personal development particularly creating good habits and self discpline. Several leaders have remarked that setting small daily targets can lead to great achievement in the long run.

I got to read a book by James Clear called Atomic Habits and this was really helpful in creating small daily habits that stick.

***This was during the complete lockdown when I did not have to go to work but now that work started, I have had to recreate a new routine.***

One thought on “Creating a routine that actually works.

Leave a comment